Glenn Theodore Seaborg (1912- )

American chemist born in Michigan in 1912.

Graduated in 1936 by the University of California, developed research work on the transuranian elements and on reactions in atomic batteries. With E. M. McMillan, B. C. Wahl and J. W. Kennedy, discovered, in 1940, plutonium-238. Later, with his colleagues, isolated more seven new elements (americium, curium, berkelium, californium, einsteinium, fermium and mendelevium). During World War II was director of the Metallurgical Laboratory of the University of Chicago, where the industrial production of plutonium began and improved the isolation method of that element starting from the reaction by-products. Professor of Chemistry since 1945 and director of the Radiation Laboratory of the University of California, shared with McMillan, in 1951, the Nobel Prize of Chemistry, for the discovery of plutonium.